Casper Barnett “Barney” Swaney

Casper Barnett “Barney” Swaney passed away on June 19, 2021 at the age of 81.

Barney attended Juniata College where he met his wife, Judith Palmer. He got his Bachelor’s Degree at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, NY. Barney was an engineer at IBM for 12 years, and then moved to Pennsylvania to work with his father as a Manufacturer’s Representative. He got his pilot’s license and enjoyed flying for their business. Barney went back to working as an Engineer for Master Solutions, Inc. designing automatic truck loading systems, but sharing the Gospel became his passion. It was then that he got his start in prison ministry.

Barney and Judie moved to Alaska in 1999, retired, and Barney pursued his passion for prison ministry. He became a Chaplain for Alaska Correctional Ministries. Barney served on the board of his church, Matanuska Assembly of God, as Treasurer for many years. He was also an active member of Promise Keepers.

Barney was preceded in death by his father, Robert Casper Swaney, and his mother, Laura Barnett Swaney. He is survived by his wife of nearly 61 years, Judith Palmer Swaney; his twin sister, Mary Jane Bledsoe; his children, Cindy (Kerry) Briggs, Jacki (Mike) Cole, Jill (Paul) Smith, and Scott (Denise) Swaney; and many other loving relatives and friends.

Services were held at Matanuska AG church Thursday, June 24th, at 7:00 p.m. Alaska time (11:00 p.m. EST) and Friday, June 25th, at 3:00 p.m. Alaska time (7:00 p.m. EST). Services can be viewed on YouTube under Matanuska AG.

In lieu of flowers, donations can be made at Godinprison.com in honor of Barney.

Load entries