Patrick McMahon

Colony’s Patrick McMahon dunks during an overtime win over Dimond.

As a freshman with the Colony High boys basketball program, Patrick McMahon made his contributions at the varsity level. Last year McMahon garnered first-team all-state honors as a sophomore. Now as a junior, McMahon has earned a top honor.

McMahon has been named the Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches 4A Boys State Player of the Year.

“Since he was a freshman he’s made unbelievable leaps his game,” Colony head coach Tom Berg said. “He’s worked so hard to develop into a really good basketball player.”

McMahon drew attention throughout the year with his highlight reel dunks and overall offensively ability. But Berg said it’s also McMahon’s work on the other side of the court that has allowed the junior standout to become much more of a force.

“Defensively he decided to make an impact this year,” Berg said. “From sophomore to junior year, on both sides of the floor, he decided to go make plays.”

McMahon has always been a factor around the rim, but he expanded upon that on the defensive side.

“He got more steals, got more aggressive,” Berg said.

McMahon is one of a pair of Knights to crack the 4A boys first-team. Senior Colton Spencer was also named first-team all-state. Berg said Spencer’s ability to shoot the ball is what sets him apart.

“He had a great senior season. It really came all together,” Berg said of Spencer.

Junior Jeremiah Hersrud was named third-team all-state for the Knights.

The group helped lead Colony to an 8-0 record in the Northern Lights Conference. The Knights were the top-ranked team in the final coaches association poll of the season.

Wasilla sophomore Bella Hays led the Valley on the 4A girls list. Hays was named first-team all-state. The 6-foot-2 forward averaged a double-double for Wasilla. In addition to talent and physical abilities, Wasilla head coach Jeannie Hebert-Truax said it’s work ethic that allows Hays to stand out.

“She works until she gets it right,” Hebert-Truax said. “She’s such a hard worker and very consistent.”

Hays is also very coachable, Hebert-Truax said.

“She’s still willing to learn. She listens, she works. She still does what I ask of her,” Hebert-Truax said.

Wasilla junior Jazlynn Novelli was also named third-team all-state for the Warriors.

Hays and Novelli helped Wasilla finish the regular season 8-0 in the NLC. Wasilla was ranked first in the final AABC poll of the season.

A total of 10 Valley players were included on AABC’s all-state list. The Colony girls placed a pair of players. Sophomore Indiya Clarke was named second-team all-state on the 4A girls list and junior Tori Schwantes was named third-team all-state.

Wasilla senior Luke Devine was named third-team all-state for the 4A boys. Redington senior Abbie Fuller was named third-team all-state for the 3A girls. Susitna Valley’s Kenna Grenier was named second-team all-state for the 2A girls.

Contact Frontiersman managing editor Jeremiah Bartz at

Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches All-State Teams

4A Boys

Player of the Year: Patrick McMahon, Colony

Coach of the Year: Colton Growden, West Valley

First team:

Patrick McMahon, Colony; Hasaan Harrington, East; Chris Lee, Ketchikan; Isaiah Moses, Dimond; Colton Spencer, Colony

Second team:

Dylan Erhart, West Valley; Reece Ivanoff, South; Brayden Maldonado, East; Terrell Peter, West Valley; Jersey Truesdell, Soldotna

Third team:

Luke Devine, Wasilla; Bryson Echiverri, Thunder Mountain; Jeremiah Hersrud, Colony; Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau; Bishop Tosi, Bartlett

4A Girls

Player of the Year: Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Coach of the Year: Charlie Engel, West

First team:

Chasity Horn, Chugiak; Kendyl Carson, Juneau; Bella Hays, Wasilla; Ella Roberts, Lathrop; Ameila Uhila, Bartlett

Second team:

Indiya Clarke, Colony; Ah’KayZee Galloway-Davis, West; Angelline Nageak, Dimond; TT Tagovailoa, Lathrop; Ituau Tuisaula, Soldotna

Third team:

Sheridan Blasey, West Valley; Mikayla Johnson, Eagle River; Jazlynn Novelli, Wasilla; Tori Schwantes, Colony; Lily Weimann, South

3A Boys

Player of the Year: Jalen Freeman, Valdez

Coach of the Year: Al Plan, Seward

First team:

Jalen Freeman, Valdez; Malachi Bradley, Monroe; Brendon Matthews, Barrow ; Quinn McHenry, Monroe; Jason Montes, Delta

Second team:

Andrew Beck, Grace; Christian Bolton, Eielson; Anthony Fruean, Barrow; Daekwon Houston, ACS; Kayden Lamebull, Grace

Third team:

Jamin Crow, Bethel; Deion Frank, Hutch; Nathan Ivanoff, Grace; Jace McCullough, Monroe; Connor Spanos, Seward

3A Girls

Player of the Year: Destiny Reimers, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year: David Wightman, Galena

First team:

Destiny Reimers, ACS; Lillian Carstens, Nikiski; Pearle Green, Galena; Mykaila Pickard, ACS; Sayvia Sellers, ACS

Second team:

Katie Best, Monroe; Tessa Binder, Grace; Jenilee Donovan, Barrow; Katelyn Kaleak, Barrow; Sunny Pedebone, ACS

Third team:

Tiffany Elefante, Sitka; Abbie Fuller, Redington; Adam Kaganak, Galena; Laveah Makisi, Kotzebue; Lisa Okboak, Nome

2A Boys

Player of the Year: Christian Adams, Cordova

Coach of the Year: Teddy Frankson, Tikigaq

First team:

Christian Adams, Cordova; Jalen Cannon, Tikigaq; Thomas Durkin, Petersburg; Kirby Faverty, Haines; Henry Kowunna, Tikigaq

Second team:

Elijah Casperson, Metlakatla; Mark Davis, Haines; Kaiden Graves, Cordova; Gabe Jones, Glennallen; Brayden Larson, Petersburg

Third team:

Jamison Fields, Glennallen; Mike Haugen, Unalakleet; Colton Hayward, Metlakatla; Devin Spears, Glennallen; Trevor Miller, Wrangell

2A Girls

Player of the Year: Alexis Russell, Metlekatla

Coach of the Year: Lindsey Layland, Dillingham

First team:

Alexis Russell, Metlekatla; Kaylin Easterly, Wrangell; Angela Lane, Tikigaq; Hailey Wilson, Unalaska; Jewel Wilson, Unalakleet

Second team:

Ashley Agwiak, Nenana; Kenna Grenier, Susitna Valley; Ines Larson, Petersburg; Mary Long, Hooper Bay; Kayla Vilamor, Unalaska

Third team:

Reagen Finkenbinder, Dillingham; Kallyn Haugen, Unalakleet; Rayna Peterson, Nenana; Kalli Simbahon, Petersburg; Abbey Whitcomb, Dillingham

1A Boys

Player of the Year: Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Coach of the Year: Mark Gunkel, Thorne Bay

First team:

Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref; Daniel Bennett, Lumen Christi; Jacob Congdon, Thorne Bay; Jesse Starnes, Sand Point; Seth Turenne, Minto

Second team:

Jaden Hadley, Noorvik; Lukah Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Amos Sage, Noatak; Joel Swanberg, Birchwood Christian; Kenneth Walton, Noatak

Third team:

Jaren Black, Manokotak; Ben Botero, Ninilchik; Brendon Gregory, Lumen Christian; Benjamin Homekingkeo, Koyuk; Jaren Tinker, Aleknagik

1A Girls

Player of the Year: Elaina Mack, King Cove

Coach of the Year: Gary Lamar, King Cove

First team:

Elaina Mack, King Cove; Jalaya Duarte, King Cove; Elizabeth Fefelov, Nikolaevsk; Sonja Ningulook, Shishmaref; Markiana Yakunin, Nikolaevsk

Second team

Sophia Klaich, Nikolaevsk; Haley Sielak, Alak; Tanya Marvin-Looney, Klawock; Johnna Nanalook, Newhalen; Sadie Newman, King Cove

Third team

Lindsey Homberg, Sand Point; Tera Phillips, Alak; Katelyn Johnson, Port Alsworth; Allyson Takak, Shaktoolik; Elsa Tinker, Kongiganak

Load comments