Emergency fishing regulations seem to be appearing in droves as we move toward the open-water fishing season. I’m glad to see the department making this effort in an early and timely manner for folks planning trips.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

HATCHER PASS — The avalanche forecast submitted by Hatcher Pass Avalanche Center on Feb. 20 expired 24 hours after it was issued. Since that time, more than six inches of new snow ha…

Thursday, February 18, 2021

In an earlier column, we mentioned the newly released king salmon sport fishing regulations for the Valley and some of the regulations for the Kenai Peninsula. Many folks were unhapp…

Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Friday, February 12, 2021
Monday, February 08, 2021
Wednesday, February 03, 2021

The days are getting longer. As the winter season shades into early spring, many folks begin thinking about open water fishing, with the big draw for almost all spring anglers being …

Monday, February 01, 2021

HATCHER PASS — Despite recent snowfall accumulating on the peaks in Hatcher Pass, the Hatcher Pass Avalanche Center listed avalanche danger as low at all elevations. In a recent aval…

Friday, January 22, 2021

One of the enjoyable outdoor-oriented activities we’ve lost, at least in the short term because of the pandemic, is the outdoors or trade show. All but a couple of gun shows were can…

Wednesday, January 20, 2021
Wednesday, January 13, 2021

As many of you are, I’m scheduled for my first COVID-19 vaccination shot next week. Once that series of shots is complete and the vaccine has had a chance to take full effect (around…

Tuesday, January 12, 2021
featured

HATCHER PASS — Low snowfall in Hatcher Pass has depleted the avalanche danger. The Hatcher Pass Avalanche Center lists the avalanche danger in Hatcher Pass at moderate for upper elev…

Wednesday, January 06, 2021

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

Top Stories