Dan and Cilla Suprak took their float tubes out on a Mat-Su Valley lake near Palmer this past week and caught more than a dozen holdover trout from last year. Dan mentioned that Cilla caught several larger fish up to about 15 inches, while those he caught were a bit smaller. It sounded like …

Saturday, May 08, 2021
Thursday, May 06, 2021

It’s getting to be that time of year. I was thinking about this topic and realized this seventeen-year-old column is as true today as when I originally wrote it. Rather than try to e…

Wednesday, May 05, 2021

Open water fishing started slowly last weekend, with only small patches of open water for anglers to try their luck, and only a couple launch sites for boaters. Conditions are changi…

Saturday, May 01, 2021
Thursday, April 29, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
featured

Summer might seem like it’s still really far away as temperatures remain frigid across the Mat-Su. But any parent who has been met in May by “full” or “waitlist only” notices for cam…

Friday, April 16, 2021
featured

HATCHER PASS — The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will drop explosives from a helicopter on April 16 to clear the remaining dangerous snow on the slopes in…

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

Top Stories