The Wasilla Hockey Boosters annual gun show starts tomorrow at Wasilla High School. I think the doors open at 10am and I believe the admission price is seven dollars for adults. I’m planning to be there, hopefully helping the Mt. McKinley blackpowder club at their table. If that all works ou…

Wednesday, January 08, 2020
Monday, January 06, 2020

I am not a professionally trained, experienced forecaster, slash practioner, slash snow geek…but I am a born and raised Alaskan who has been here more than six decades and loves to r…

Friday, December 20, 2019

The 41st Matanuska Valley Audubon Christmas Bird Count (CBC) took place on Count Day, Sunday, December 15, 2019. During the CBC, Field Teams, and Feeder Counters at home, counted all…

Christmas is only a few days away and, hopefully, you’re about done with your shopping. If not, we’ll talk a bit later about more shopping ideas. However, first, I’d like to wish all…

Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 05, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019

HATCHER PASS — The Hatcher Pass Avalanche Center has issued a considerable avalanche warning above 2,500 in Hatcher Pass. With up to 20 inches of new snow and high winds, natural or …

This coming Thursday, Dec. 5, from 2 until 4 pm, the Matanuska-Susitna Borough Fish and Wildlife Commission will meet with ADF&G’s Commercial Fisheries Division and Sport Fish Di…

Monday, November 18, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019

Before we get started, I’d like to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving. Despite how things might be going for you currently, you really do have a lot to be thankful for. I wish my ankl…

Friday, November 15, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019

I’m writing this half-way through the 12th Annual Mat-Su Salmon Science and Conservation Symposium in Palmer. As I wrote last week, the keynote address for this symposium is: Indigen…

Friday, November 08, 2019

PALMER – Though the great weather has delayed snow, many trails in the Valley are in excellent condition for fat biking. Low precipitation in the Valley has left the numerous trails …

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

Top Stories