My friends and I were rehearsing a violin, viola, and piano number. Someone walked by and commented to our pianist, Morgan Shamy, “Wow, you are so talented.” Her reply? “I practice a lot.” Have you ever noticed that if you want something worthwhile, you must sacrifice your time and effort to…

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 09, 2019

It was a busy day on the pediatric floor, and my little patient was in desperate need of a life-saving infusion. Pharmacy had just delivered the medication and clearly stated that it…

Friday, September 06, 2019

Most of us desire to live lives that please God. The apostle Paul at the end of his life said, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith….” (2 …

Wednesday, September 04, 2019

A very good friend, the Rev. Dr. William Herzog II, died on August 4, 2019, Bill was a Bible scholar of first note. His academic credentials were impressive. Harvard, Claremont, Amer…

Monday, September 02, 2019

Mongolia has always held a sense of mystery for me. I remember from my schooling that Mongolia once stretched from Austria to all of China. Chinggis Khan achieved this conquest throu…

Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

We live in a very exciting time of history! It’s been said that five great revolutions have taken place in history. The first great revolution was ideographic writing. An example of …

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Our God is in the business of changing lives. God took Abraham, an idolater, and made him into the father of faith. God took Moses, a murderer, and transformed him into the great law…

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019

Not many years ago, I took my son Kimball roller skating along with his good friend Daniel. On the ride to the skating rink, Daniel told us it was his first time roller skating. Upon…

Friday, August 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019

My friend, Jim Tayes, recently died. Jim came to Alaska in 1966 in the oil business from California. He got off the plane in Prudhoe. It was so cold he wanted to get back on the plan…

Friday, August 09, 2019
Tuesday, August 06, 2019

“Wow, could this be the best part of the amusement park?” I thought to myself. In June my husband and I joined our daughter and her young family at a theme park. The community was ex…