Colton Lindquist

Wasilla quarterback Coltin Lindquist follows a Matthew Wood block into the end zone during a loss to Chugiak.

WASILLA — A Wasilla standout has been recognized as one of the top players in the Chugach Conference. Junior Colton Lindquist has been named the Chugach Conference Utility Player of the Year.

Lindquist played a significant role in just about every phase of the game as a junior. Lindquist started six games at quarterback and the final two at running back on offense, and eight games at defensive back. He was also Wasilla’s punter and punt returner. On offense, Lindquist finished with 1,332 total yards and 12 total touchdowns. He led Wasilla with 844 yards rushing and seven touchdowns, and averaged 6.7 yards per carry. He threw for 453 yards and four touchdowns, and added 35 yards receiving and a touchdown catch.

Lindquist was named first-team All-Chugach at running back and second-team at defensive back.

Lindquist was one of a half-dozen Valley players on the first team. Colony senior Ridge Raval was the lone Valley player to be named first-team twice in 2019. Raval was first-team all-conference at both running back and defensive back. Colony receiver Hunter Sasser and defensive lineman Jace Trangmoe were also named first-team, along with Wasilla offensive lineman Devin Carney and defensive lineman Andrew Devine.

Colony finished fourth in the conference at 2-2 and qualified for the Division I playoffs. Wasilla finished fifth.

Contact the Frontiersman at

All-Chugach Conference

Offensive Player of Year: Tyler Huffer, Chugiak

Defensive Player of the Year: Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau

Lineman of the Year: Iolana Haines, Bartlett

Utility Player of the Year: Colton Lindquist, Wasilla

Coach of the Year: Rich Sjoroos, Juneau; Ryan Landers, Chugiak

Assistant Coach of the Year: Wayde Snell, Chugiak

First-team offense:

Quarterback — Noah Chambers, Juneau; Running back — Gaby Soto, Juneau; Ali Beya, Juneau; Tyler Huffer, Chugiak; Elijiah Lillo, Bartlett; Ridge Raval, Colony; Colton Lindquist, Wasilla; Tight end — Joshua Ellis, Bartlett; Wide receiver — Hunter Sasser, Colony; Offensive line — Marcos Yadeo, Juneau; Collin Caldwell, Chugiak; Iolana Haines, Bartlett; Devin Carney, Wasilla.

First-team defense:

Defensive line — Cole Jensen, Juneau; Austin Harr, Chugiak; Jacob Oshesky, Chugiak; Loto Manoglamanu, Bartlett; Jace Trangmoe, Colony; Andrew Devine, Wasilla; Linebacker — Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau; Christian Beesing; Kody Carlson, Chugiak; Defensive back — Wallace Adams, Juneau; Elijiah Lewis-Tufi, Bartlett; Ridge Raval, Colony.

Second-team offense:

Quarterback — Quentin Wilson, Chugiak; Reason Timberlake, Bartlett; Running back — Grant Jones, Chugiak; Austin Harr, Chugiak; Isaiah Walker, Bartlett; Tight end — Dawson Hickok, Juneau; Kellen Gibbs, Wasilla; Wide receiver — Danny Isaak, Juneau; Phillip Bezhenar, Wasilla; Offensive line — Ethan Jaenickle, Juneau; Jake Ferster, Juneau; Logan Dennis, Chugiak; Shyler Trepenier, Bartlett; Jacob Nelson, Colony; Peter Plant, Colony;

Second-team defense:

Defensive line — Sam Sika, Juneau; Mathias Wiederspohn, Juneau; Tyler Pasa, Colony; Linebacker — Tyler Huffer, Chugiak; Kainoa Duarte, Bartlett; AJ Lillomalava, Bartlett; Tanner Thornhill, Colony; Tristan Wake, Wasilla; Defensive back — Logan Mathieu, Chugiak; Michael Bradley, Colony; Colton Lindquist, Wasilla.

Load comments